Screaming Now

I am so incredibly blessed to be out of my trafficking situation.  So many girls never get out and never have the chance to live the life I’m living now.  It’s a miracle and one that I will be forever thankful for.  The “getting out” though is only the beginning of the healing process.  At least, that certainly was the case for me.  I often still feel so misunderstood.  If I could this is what I’d want to scream aloud now:

  • I am not a forever victim, but I no not always feel like a survivor.
  • I am not weak; I just have weak moments sometimes.
  • I do not need you saving me.
  • I am not insensitive. (I might act tough but my feelings still get hurt!)
  • I am not a checklist item.
  • I am not yours to rescue… rescue’s a BIG word, leave that to God.
  • I am not just a survivor of trafficking. There’s so much more to me; don’t let that be my primary identifier.
  • I am not perfect, I don’t have it all figured out and I am not a hero.
  • I am not someone who’s going to leave a friend behind.
  • I do not trust easily, at all.
  • I am not disloyal… sometimes this comes back to bite me.
  • I am not someone who forgets indiscretions easily but I suck at holding grudges.
  • I do not believe that you “get it” when you obviously don’t.
  • I do not have a high tolerance for fake.
  • I do not have a high tolerance for whinning.
  • I do not have a high tolerance for dishonesty or ignorance.
  • I’m a women who can figure things out and take care of myself.
  • I have the choice to let you in my circle or not and I will use that choice.
  • I have the choice to let you help me, or not.
  • I am not stupid.

May this blog serve as an education to those who do not yet know or understand the atrocities of trafficking and may it serve as an encouragement to those who understand it all too well.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nik

     /  February 29, 2012

    PEOPLE CAN NOT BUT HAVE GREAT ADMIRATION AND RESPECT FOR WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU’RE DOING. I BELIEVE YOU CAN’T HELP BUT DRAW OUT THE VERY BEST FROM THOSE AROUND YOU.

    Reply
  2. Great statements of empowerment. My favorite:

    “I am not yours to rescue… rescue’s a BIG word, leave that to God.”

    Blessings.
    Vince

    Reply

Tell me what you think...

