The Journey Is Necessary

I had to make a trip recently for my job, and to be honest, I wasn’t entirely excited about it.  Once arriving at the hotel though I instantly relaxed and gained a new energy for the task at hand.  I suppose it wasn’t the destination that caused me to fret, but the journey getting here.  I spoke to myself out loud, laughing at my immense cheesiness in clarity of thought.  Corny as it is, the idea is still nothing but truth.  It’s not our destinations that exhaust us, it’s the journeys it take to get there.

So much of my journey I’ve hated.  I’ve kicked and cried, fought entering counseling or doctor’s offices like a dog heading into a vet.  I’ve whined too much about the cold and worried too much about finances, but my destination has been wonderful.  I’m working in a beautiful area, with beautiful people, doing a beautiful thing – the journey I took to get here couldn’t be replaced by any other.  There is no faster plane or shorter route over the ocean.  The journey was necessary.  Such is the rest of life.  The journey is necessary.  Damn.

So many days we – ahem—I want to just hit the Fast Forward.  I grow impatient and weary.  I simply want to be THERE… not even really caring where there is.  I’m just tried of traveling through the healing and through the crap.  But alas, I pause and remind myself over and over… the journey is necessary… the journey is necessary… the journey is necessary…there would be no learning if it weren’t for the journey.  There would be no wisdom or appreciate of joy without a journey.  The journey is worth it… good or bad.

On a side note, this song entitled “Blank Page” by The Album Leaf is a great soundtrack to this whole messy journey that we’re all on. Enjoy (http://youtu.be/5SXy88Ai99E)

May this blog serve as an education to those who do not yet know or understand the atrocities of trafficking and may it serve as an encouragement to those who understand it all too well.

(Post originally written 6/1/12)