Facing Defeat

Do you ever feel defeated?  Like the problem is just too large?  (Of course you have, everyone has.) It’s like what you’re facing personally is eventually just going to open its wide jaws of despair and swallow you whole, flailing limbs and all.

It’s been a while since I’ve had those feelings for my life own but it’s easy to go there within the mind of ending trafficking.  I’m not naïve, I don’t think I’ll see this crime totally end in my lifetime, but I do expect to see progress.  People in the worst hit areas will tell you over and over again that change is impossible.  “I suppose I just like to work on the impossible then.” I tell them.  If it was so easy, if it was so “possible” than a million people would have already attacked the issue, it would be over, and we wouldn’t be having this discussion at all.  Our God is a God of impossible tasks, of impossible callings and I have to remind myself that this is OK.  This is nothing new.

Still though, it’s hard.  I talked to a couple of my friends recently who are forced to work in the sex industry.  They’re sister and currently in a fight, though they still love each other deeply.  Neither of them will agree to enter our transitional program because they want the other sister to do so and they know the other won’t show up if they are there first.  Talk about sacrificial love.  I was having this discussion with the older sister when I had to leave.  There was a man insisting that he buy her time so she could dance on the stripper pole with him.  I assumed he also was planning to buy her for sex later that evening.  In order to not get her in trouble with the boss, I hugged her, assuring that I would text later and asked her to be careful.  I could have just bought her myself for the night to spare her an evening with this idiot, but that would have just been a Band-Aid over the issue and I’m more interested in sustainable results.

It’s still so easy to feel defeated in that moment.  To remember the thousands of instances of personal defeat is simple.  But I don’t work with the simple right?  I work with the impossible.

May this blog serve as an education to those who do not yet know or understand the atrocities of trafficking and may it serve as an encouragement to those who understand it all too well.

(Post originally written 6/10/12)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Tell me what you think...

