3rd Generation Slave

Pole Dancing Attire for Babies?!

Three generations.  THREE generations.  My heart was simultaneously filling with joy and tearing in sorrow.  I went to visit a sex bar here overseas where many of my friends work.  I have been coming here for years now to visit and encourage these girls and women in hopes of seeing positive change.  That particular night there were three generations of one family present.  As a surprise to me, the manager was back from maternity leave with her new baby.  Her mom, the bar owner, was also there in order to assist with operations while her daughter was still breast-feeding.  All the other ladies in the bar were just as in love with the new child as I was… she was perfect…. Extra beautiful face, sweet demeanor, precious cry.  Various women would take turns holding the little girl to give Mom a break.  They would laugh with her and make her bop along to the heavy base of the club music playing at the bar.  It killed me when they said, “Oh look – she’s even learning how to dance on the pole already!” They all laughed at the joke.  I nearly cry.

They often joke to me as a friend when a song comes on that I like.  “Oh here – come dance! Come dance!”  They tell me to come dance on the pole and I always say, “No, no, I don’t have to dance on poles any more, remember?”  They smile and say “Yea, yea.”  My heart bleeds a little more.  This is a particularly stubborn bar… not because the women like their jobs or don’t want anything different… it’s because they actually have a strong work community.  They take care of each other and the fear of launching into the unknown of a new community is too great.  Even if they know that community is honestly trying to help them – it’s still an unknown.

Even in my own personal story, the “fear of unknown” was hugely powerful.  So much of the reason why I was in The Life as long as 11 years was because of the unknown.  At least I could somewhat expect the pain of the old life.  If I tried to leave – that was a whole new kind of fear and pain to figure out.  How was I to know if it was going to be better or worse?  Thankfully, as you know, I took that chance one day, but it was a great, GREAT leap.  Maybe one day my friends will understand the worth in this leap of faith as well.  This third generation of girl may be raised up in the sex bar but she doesn’t have to stay there.

May this blog serve as an education to those who do not yet know or understand the atrocities of trafficking and may it serve as an encouragement to those who understand it all too well.

(Post originally written 6/10/12)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for sharing their story and for choosing to go back and love these women. May you have the strength to love them the way that they need and may they see that there is hope and they too can find a way out.

    Reply

Tell me what you think...

